Title- The Brief Meaning of “Vipassana Bhavana”

Now the most important thing to do among in the Buddha’s Teachings is “Vipassana”, unknown in other world religions. The Pali term “Vipassana” means special watching, wisdom-insight discipline. In other words it also means bare awareness, non-judgmental knowing, noting the changing nature of life. It’s seeing things as they really are. So, in Vipassana discipline, when we see, we just note ‘seeing’ ‘seeing’ ‘seeing’ and let this fact go. If we get pain in our body, we note clearly and impersonally just ‘pain’, ‘pain’ and let it go. This is called ‘special insight seeing’ or ‘pure noting and bare watching’ of the phenomena, whether physical thing or mental thing, as soon as they arise at present moment only and vanish almost at the same time of arising. We must live in the present. So we note also the changing (not stable; impermanent or Anicca in Pali) fact of our experiences and Dukkha (suffering; pain; misery; agony; discomfort) and Anatta (soul-less ;non-ego) truths also. Hence, this special noting called ‘Vipassana Bhavana’, cultivation of insight wisdom to realize the Four Noble Truths directly and clearly.

In the universe, there are no persons, beings and things but only mind and matter. The knowledge which can discern significantly the characteristics of impermanence (anicca), unsatisfactoriness (dukkha) and insubstantiality (anatta),etc., is called Insight (Vipassana). Those who lack Insight Knowledge regard the combination of mind and matter as human being, celestial being, brahma, man, woman. etc., and the combination of corporeal entities as houses, schools, rest-houses, trees, forests, mountains, etc. They also miscomprehend these beings and things to be permanent (nicca), satisfactory (sukha), substantial (atta) and pleasant (subha).

Although the blind worldings think so, a virtuous person who has practiced Insight Meditation penetratively knows that all beings and things are the aggregates of physical and mental phenomena, and that they are impermanent (anicca), unsatisfactory (dukkha), insubstantial (antta) and loathsome (asuba). Such special penetrative knowledge is called “Vipassana”.

Related Articles:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s