Title- Four Guardian Meditations (Caturarakkha Kammatthana)


In the Teachings of the Buddha, throughout the ages, meditators keep up the practice of the Four Guardian Meditations to protect themselves from internal and external dangers. Nowadays meditators keep up this tradition.


The Four Guardian Meditations are:


(1) Reflection on the attributes of the Buddha (Buddhanussati),
(2) Radiation of Loving-kindness (Metta Kammathana),
(3) Contemplation on the loathsomeness of a corpse (Asubha Kammathana), and
(4) Reflection on the nature of death (Marananussati).


Those who practice the four types of meditation mentioned above will be protected from grief (soka), lamentation (parideva), etc, in this life, and will be also free from miseries such as be falling into woeful abodes in future existences. So, these meditations are called Four Guardian Meditations.




Doc Version Here In My Group:





___ http://www.facebook.com/groups/buddhismforbeginners ___


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s